A solution for the curse of “more”

Through a generous gift we recently purchased a new camping tent. While shopping online we found the following excerpt from a customer review of the tent:

“There is a USB port but no guarantee to work with your MP3 player and there is a 5v plug, neither will charge my cell phone, haven’t tried the IPod…. I’d return this tent if it wasn’t such a hassle.”

In our home we have a saying for such comments: “They don’t have problems like that in Haiti.”

When I read that review I had to stop and remind myself that it was not a new SUV being discussed. This was a camping tent, a temporary dwelling that people normally associate with the wilderness and non-electronic creatures such as lions and tigers and squirrels.

All of us are prone to give in to the temptation of “more.” Could this be a problem of, oh, I don’t know, perhaps expectations that are a wee bit too high? What can we do about it?

I have established a personal policy that whenever I hear, think or voice a complaint, I must think of at least two blessings. On a walk through our neighborhood I came across a house painted with what may be the ugliest green ever developed by modern technology. After recoiling from the affront to my highly refined aesthetic sense, I thanked the Lord that I, 1) don’t live across the street, and, 2) do live with a woman who has different tastes. Nothing fancy, but it keeps reminding me of what I have instead of what I imagine will make me happy.

I invite you to join me in declaring war on the curse of “more.” Think of how you can implement the command to “give thanks in everything.”

Meanwhile, we will be trying out our tent soon, and thanking God for letting us enjoy the beauty of His creation.   

 SIDEBAR

Will your church be observing IDOP? No, that’s not a new government agency. It’s the International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church. This year it will be on Sunday, November 14. When persecuted believers are asked how we can help them, almost invariably their answer is, “pray for us that we will remain faithful.”

Voice of the Martyrs offers a church resource kit to assist in raising awareness. Ask your pastor to lead in joining this effort to stand with our brothers and sisters who are on the frontlines of kingdom advance.

This entry was posted in persecuted church, worship and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A solution for the curse of “more”

  1. Myron Chorbajian says:

    The hardest thing to be thankful for is ill health. But have you ever noticed how GOOD it feels when you have a moment of good health? I am fond of saying, “it is almost worth getting sick to realize how good it feels to be better!” My recent bout with severe asthma reminded me again how GOOD it feels just to BREATHE! Yet, without the illness, I am prone to forget the blessing of just being able to breathe without being “allergic” to air. “In everything give thanks, . . .”

    Like

  2. woodeg says:

    Giving thanks in everything has been a lesson that God has been working on me about recently, particulary being thankful for unpleasant things, work not going well, vehicle breakdowns, etc. It is far from easy and I often have prayed like the man in Mark 9, “Lord I believe, help thou my unbelief. What has been amazing, in addition to reducing the “mores” is the rebukes He has given me when I stop to think why I am not being thankful for difficult times. God is so good when we open up to Him.

    Like

  3. Nancy Parker says:

    Thanks, Stephen, for making me think — and for giving me a very practical suggestion for counteracting a negative view with a thankful attitude.

    Nancy Parker

    Like

Leave a Reply

